Laura J. Zitella, MS, RN, ACNP-BC, AOCN®

Laura J. Zitella, MS, RN, ACNP-BC, AOCN® is a hematology/oncology nurse practitioner and clinical associate professor in the Department of Physiological Nursing at the University of California San Francisco. She has practiced in the field for over 25 years, caring for patients with hematologic and oncologic malignancies receiving chemotherapy, immunotherapy, targeted therapy, investigational agents, hematopoietic cell transplantation, and supportive care.

Ms. Zitella has delivered hundreds of educational presentations to national and international audiences and authored numerous peer-reviewed publications, webcourses, and book chapters. She co-edited the “Hematologic Malignancies in Adults” textbook, that was awarded the 2014 American Medical Writers Association Medical Book Award Honorable Mention.  Ms. Zitella precepts nurse practitioner students, pioneered a hospital-wide onboarding program for new hire advanced practice providers, implemented a comprehensive 12 week orientation program for new hire hematology/oncology APPs, and developed an inpatient advanced practice provider hematology/oncology medical team.

Ms. Zitella is an active member of the Advanced Practitioner Society for Hematology and Oncology (APSHO), the Oncology Nursing Society (ONS), the California Association of Nurse Practitioners (CANP), and the American Association of Nurse Practitioners (AANP). She serves on planning committees for numerous educational conferences, the editorial board for the Journal of the Advanced Practitioner in Oncology (JADPRO), and national committees such as NCCN Chemotherapy Order Template Style Guide Committee, the ONS Putting Evidence into Practice Prevention of Infection Team and APSHO Education Committee.

Ms Zitella received the Inaugural 2014 Stanford Health Care Advanced Practice Provider of the Year Award, the 2013 DAISY Award for Nursing, the 2010 Oncology Nursing Society (ONS) Excellence in Medical Oncology Award, the 2006 ONS Excellence in Oncology Nursing-Sensitive Patient Outcomes Award, the 2006 Stanford Medicine Residency Health Care Professional Award, and the 2003 Stanford Professional Initiative Award.

Leave a reply